1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Song

Discussion in 'Music' started by Doctor CPU, Feb 9, 2020.

1. Doctor CPU

Doctor CPU Senior Member
    Donator

I'm not that expirenced in music making so i dicided to open up a midi player and make one.

Please give feedback, even critisism.

Link

2. Jingle Jangles

Jingle Jangles Senior Member
    ]HeLL[ Member

I have some experience here.. It's decent nice beat at the start and some cool synth sounds.. you just need to make sure it's in key, it sounds out. So pick a key like C minor or D major etc.. Google the scale and play only those notes in the midi inputs. Trust me it will sound much better.. unless you intended it to sound out of key that is.. So this is basic music theory.

You can find the notes for any major or minor scale by follow the tone/semitone rule.

Here is major: https://www.piano-keyboard-guide.co...5/05/tones-and-semitones-in-a-major-scale.png so Tone (T) Semitone (S) Major is TTS TTTS. One tone is two notes up, one semitone is one note up.. these include black notes.
    Minor is similar, TS TT STT.

So for example, pick your root note: D.. for D minor it's going to be D->Tone(E)->Semitone(F)->Tone(G)->Tone(A)->Semitone(A#/sharp)->Tone(C)->Tone(D). This is called natural minor, the most common type of minor scale. AKA just minor.

Have fun with scales and pick one you like. My favourite is C minor :)

I can give you more tips if you like.. I use FL Studio and Ableton so I can advise in these and some music theories.

Make sure you also fill each frequency.. So low freq = bass (bass guitar, subby synth etc..).. Mids = vocals, piano, High = high notes, snares, hi hats etc..

Let me know if you need more advice.
    --- Double Post Merged, Feb 9, 2020, Original Post Date: Feb 9, 2020 ---
    Hey man so I just want to show you what can be done in simply half an hour if you have the right knowledge..