1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[HowTo] Boost your minecraft RAM

Discussion in 'Minecraft Chat' started by Dino-Rawr, May 7, 2012.

  1. Dino-Rawr
    Offline

    Dino-Rawr The Experienced
    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    44
    Description: This is a very basic tutorial to show you how to boost the RAM used in your Minecraft game.
    PS: this is for Windows 7 (64-bit) (Confirmed working on XP and Vista)

    Why Boost? Sometimes there happen events on the map that the standard 512 MB isnt enough for. ex. tnt explosions, large amounts of events, mobs, experience orbs.

    1.)

    Open up Notepad.
    Note: If you don't have it on your desktop, you can search for it in the Start Menu

    2.) The Syntax for the line of code goes as following:

    Code:
    javaw -Xms  [i]Amount of actual RAM[/i]  m -Xmx  [i]Amount of MaxRAM[/i]  m -jar "[i]Directory of Minecraft.exe [/i]"
    I prefer to boost up to 1GB. You can have as much as you want (1GB, 2GB, 4GB, etc.), but don't overdo the actual RAM capacity of your computer :)

    So for 1GB, copy this:

    Code:
    javaw -Xms1024m -Xmx2048m -jar "[i]Directory of Minecraft.exe[/i]"
    3.) Hit "Save as...", choose the desired name and destination, but remember to have the document type as ".bat". This is very important, because it is a Batch file you will be launching.

    4.) Now simply locate your .bat file, double click it, and minecraft will open as usual.

    Note: Since I would guess most of your have your minecraft.exe on your desktop, the directory would be like this: "C:\Users\Username\Desktop\minecraft.exe"

    Note2: If you get errors. Remeber to install the latest Java SDK Version (thanks adey).
     
    #1
  2. Wasp
    Offline

    Wasp The Experienced
    Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    44
    Ty ive been looking for a fix for this for ever :)

    SMD SON :*
     
    #2
  3. Dace
    Offline

    Dace Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    On someway it ist working for me:
    Code:
    javaw -Xms1024m -Xmx2048m -jar "C:\Users\Tim\Desktop\Downloads\Minecraft.exe"
     
    #3
  4. Dino-Rawr
    Offline

    Dino-Rawr The Experienced
    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    44
    sometimes there is a weird bug when you copy the code (for some reason) try to write it by "scratch" without copying. and be sure to have java installed to a decent version :)
     
    #4
  5. Dace
    Offline

    Dace Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hand written..
    shouldnt it be a different code on Win7?
     
    #5
  6. Dino-Rawr
    Offline

    Dino-Rawr The Experienced
    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    44
    I use win7 :)
     
    #6
  7. Dace
    Offline

    Dace Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Add this to your thread^^ :
    Be sure to download Java 64 bit, if you're a Windows 64 bit user!
    www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
    [​IMG]
    You're welcome.
     
    #7
  8. Dino-Rawr
    Offline

    Dino-Rawr The Experienced
    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    44
    Oh yeah. my stupidity. didnt think of any other version than windows 7 :)
     
    #8
  9. Nomy
    Offline

    Nomy Administrator
    Super Admin ]HeLL[ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    35,883
    Likes Received:
    3,688
    Windows 6? xD

    Also I recommend JDK 7 x64. ;)
     
    #9
  10. Adey
    Offline

    Adey The Experienced
    Retired Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    328
    If it doesn't work, add pause on the second line of your bat file to stop the window from just closing on you.

    I got an error JAVA IS NOT A RECOGNIZED INTERNAL OR EXTERNAL COMMAND. I had to download the Java SDK for it to work (Win 7 64bit).
     
    #10
  11. Loui5D
    Offline

    Loui5D Veteran Member
    Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    11
    would it not be possible to add a "-mod blah blah blah" in the actual minecraft shortcut?
     
    #11
  12. Dino-Rawr
    Offline

    Dino-Rawr The Experienced
    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    44
    Yeah I guess so. But it isnt anymore pain than this
     
    #12
  13. Loui5D
    Offline

    Loui5D Veteran Member
    Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    11
    i'll look at it tonight and if i can get it too work i'll post on here.
     
    #13
  14. Luxray
    Offline

    Luxray The Experienced

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Error: Unable to acces jarfile C:/.... (That shit comes here.)
     
    #14
  15. Dino-Rawr
    Offline

    Dino-Rawr The Experienced
    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    44
    hmm. might work if you try to put the .exe file and the .bat file in the same directory. I'll try to look it up further, but try that first
     
    #15
  16. Luxray
    Offline

    Luxray The Experienced

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    0
    I managed to launch the MC launcher, could I close the .bat after the launcher opened?
     
    #16
  17. Dino-Rawr
    Offline

    Dino-Rawr The Experienced
    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    44
    No. Then minecraft will close too. Just minimize it. It doesnt use any more resources than you chose the minecraft itself to use :)
     
    #17
  18. iDraGoN
    Offline

    iDraGoN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just took 6 GB now :)
     
    #18
  19. maj_ly_mad
    Offline

    maj_ly_mad Senior Member
    Donator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    44
    anycode for vista (sorry for asking) >.<
     
    #19
  20. Nomy
    Offline

    Nomy Administrator
    Super Admin ]HeLL[ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    35,883
    Likes Received:
    3,688
    Its same for all windows.
     
    #20